DC Touchdown Club Announces Award Winners for April 13 Dinner

Legendary football coach Steve Spurrier, former Washington Redskins star Dexter Manley and ESPN SportsCenter anchor Scott Van Pelt headline the honorees at the DC Touchdown Club Awards Dinner, which will be held Thursday, April 13 in Bethesda, Maryland, and benefits Patriot Point.

Dinner tickets and Touchdown Club memberships are on sale now as the Touchdown Club honors the best and brightest in the National Capital Region’s football community, including Pro Player of the Year Terry McLaurin, College Player of the Year and Heisman Trophy winner Caleb Williams and Circle of Legends inductee Danny Meier.

“What an amazing group of award winners, including two Heisman Trophy winners, one of the most recognizable players in Redskins’ history and perhaps the best-known sports broadcaster of this generation,” Military Bowl Foundation President Steve Beck said. “We can’t wait to gather, relive some amazing memories and celebrate this terrific group.”

The full slate of award winners is:
  • Founder’s Award: Steve Spurrier. 1966 Heisman Trophy winner at University of Florida is best known as the Head Ball Coach for his tenure leading the Gators for 12 seasons and winning the 1996 national championship. Also coached the Washington Redskins as well as the University of South Carolina and Duke University.
  • Founder’s Award: Dexter Manley. Star defensive end was renowned for his ability to rush the quarterback. Led the Redskins to two Super Bowl titles and set the franchise single-season sack record with 18 ½ in 1986, a mark that still stands.
  • Career Achievement Award: Scott Van Pelt. Sherwood High and University of Maryland graduate has worked for ESPN since 2001 and is best known for hosting SportsCenter and ESPN’s golf coverage.
  • Pro Player of the Year: Terry McLaurin, Washington Commanders. Fourth-year pro has led Commanders in receiving in each of his seasons, including three consecutive 1,000-yard seasons. Was named to the Pro Bowl this year after catching 77 passes for 1,191 yards and five touchdowns.
  • College Player of the Year: Caleb Williams, USC. Former Gonzaga High star became the first player ever from the Washington area to win the Heisman Trophy as the best player in college football. Passed for 4,537 yards and 42 touchdowns with just five interceptions, with five 300-yard games and three 400-yard games.
  • Circle of Legends: Danny Meier. Guided West Potomac to two state titles and Chantilly to a state title before retiring from coaching to pursue a career in administration, serving 10 years as the principal at Robinson.
  • Virginia HS Player of the Year Tony Rojas, Fairfax. Running back and linebacker rushed for 2,239 yards and 35 touchdowns, while posting 13 sacks and forcing five fumbles on defense as the Lions finished the regular season undefeated and advanced to the state semifinals. Has enrolled at Penn State.
  • Maryland HS Player of the Year Jason Moore., DeMatha Catholic. Dominant defensive end made 17 tackles for loss and had 12 sacks as the Stags finished first in the Washington Catholic Athletic Conference during the regular season. Signed with Ohio State.
  • D.C. HS Player of the Year Nyckoles Harbor, Carroll. Imposing tight end and defensive end also is a national-caliber sprinter in track and field. Finished the season with 45 tackles, including 16 ½ tackles for loss. Signed with South Carolina.
  • Washington Metro High School Coach of the Year Pat Ward, St. John’s. Guided the Cadets to their second consecutive Washington Catholic Athletic Conference championship.
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Most Popular

To Top
%d bloggers like this: